Contact Us

Maryland Higher Education Commission
6 North Liberty Street
Baltimore, MD  21201

 

Hours of Operation: Monday​ through Friday, 8:30 am - 4:30 pm

 

Office of Student Financial Assistance (OSFA) 

Phone Number: (410) 767-3300
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0250
 

For questions about your financial aid application or award, please log into MDCAPS at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us and send us an email through your secure account.

For problems logging into your MD CAPS account, first read the Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) document located on the MDCAPS homepage at https://mdcaps.mhec.state.md.us.  If you still cannot log in to your account, please email OSFA at osfamail.mhec@maryland.gov.
 

      Name                                 Position Title                                        Email

 Donna Thomas                     OSFA Director                       donnae.thomas@maryland.gov
 Vacant                                   OSFA Associate Director     
 

           ____________________________________________________________________ 

 

Department of Academic Affairs, Research & Policy Analysis, Private Career Schools, Department of Finance and Administration 

Phone Number: (410) 767-3300
Toll Free Phone: (800) 974-0203
Fax: (410) 332-0270
 

Visitors who are hard of hearing, deaf or speech-disabled and who use a TTY or text telephone can contact MHEC via Maryland Relay (Dial 7-1-1 or 800-735-2258)

Please direct all questions or comments about our web site to: webmgr.mhec@maryland.gov.  We welcome email correspondence from anyone, but we do not accept attachments.​​​​​
 

         ______________________________________________________________________ 

 

Staff Contact Information

 

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

  
Name Position Title Email
James D. Fielder, Jr., Ph.D. Secretary of Higher Education james.fielder@maryland.gov
Deborah Ing Special Assistant to the Secretary  deborah.ing@maryland.gov

OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL

  
Name Position Title Email
Jennifer Katz Assistant Attorney General - Principal Counsel  jennifer.katz@maryland.gov
Soma Kedia Assistant Attorney General soma.kedia@maryland.gov
 

 

DEPARTMENT OF ACADEMIC AFFAIRS

 
Name Position Title Email
Emily A.A. Dow, Ph.D.           Assistant Secretary for Academic Affairs emily.dow@maryland.gov
Trish Gordon-McCown           Director of Academic Affairs trish.mccown@maryland.gov
 

Collegiate Unit 

​ ​
Name Position Title Email
Karen King-Sheridan Associate Director of Collegiate Affairs karen.king-sheridan@maryland.gov
Glenda Abney Education Policy Analyst                       glenda.abney@maryland.gov
Lyndsay Bates Education Policy Analyst lyndsay.bates@maryland.gov
Jackie Cade Education Policy Analyst jacqueline.cade@maryland.gov
Bryson Barksdale Online Education Analyst bryson.barksdale@maryland.gov   
Jermal Butler Administrative Specialist jermal.butler@maryland.gov
Vacant ​Online Education Support Specialist
 

Private Career Schools 

Name Position Title Email
Ashley Wallace, Ph.D. Associate Director of Career and Workforce Education ashley.wallace@maryland.gov
Vacant Senior Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education
Angela Carroll Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education angela.carroll@maryland.gov
Eric Jackson Education Analyst-Career/Workforce Education eric.jackson1@maryland.gov  
Ronda Brown Administrative Aide -Career/Workforce Education ronda.brown@maryland.gov
 

Veterans Affairs 

Name Position Title Email
Vacant Associate Director of Veterans Affairs
Olayta Rigsby Veterans Affairs Analyst olayta.rigsby@maryland.gov
Wayne Holmes Veterans Affairs Analyst wayne.holmes@maryland.gov
Tiffany Lebron​ Administrative Aide tiffany.lebron@maryland.gov
 ​
 

DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE AND ADMINISTRATION

 
Name Position Title Email
Geoffrey Newman Assistant Secretary of Higher Education geoff.newman@maryland.gov
 

Office of Budget and Finance 

Name Position Title Email
Aubrey Bascombe Director aubrey.bascombe1@maryland.gov
Sandy Carrera Administrative Officer sandra.carrera@maryland.gov
Lakeisha Thornton  Procurement Officer  lakeisha.thornton1@maryland.gov
Les Hodgson Staff Accountant les.hodgson@maryland.gov
 

Office of Facilities/Capital Budget Oversight 

Name Position Title Email
Vacant Finance Policy Analyst
Anthony Reiner Finance and Facilities anthony.reiner@maryland.gov
 

Office of Information Technology 

Name Position Title Email
Parris Jackson Director parris.jackson@maryland.gov
Alexander Robertson Systems Specialist alex.robertson@maryland.gov
Lisa Stollof Database Specialist lisa.stollof@maryland.gov
Vacant Systems Specialist  
Daoud Chattha Systems Specialist daoud.chattha@maryland.gov

​​

DEPARTMENT OF EXTERNAL RELATIONS

  
Name Position Title Email
Lee Towers Executive Director  lee.towers@maryland.gov
  

Office of Communications 

Name Position Title Email
Rhonda Wardlaw   Director rhonda.wardlaw@maryland.gov
 
Office of Outreach and Grants Management 
 
Name Position Title Email
Beneé​ Edwards Grants Management Manager   benee.edwards@maryland.gov
Peggy Daw Nurse Support Program II Grant Manager   peggy.daw@maryland.gov
Kimberly Ford Nurse Support Program II Grant Specialist  ​ Kimberly.ford@maryland.gov


Isaiah Ellis Outreach Specialist isaiah.ellis@maryland.gov
Kendall Cook GEAR UP/CPIP Grant Coordinator kendall.cook@maryland.gov 
Deborah Lee GEAR UP Grant Support Specialist deborah.lee@maryland.gov
  

Office of Legislative Affairs 

Name Position Title Email
Lee Towers Director lee.towers@maryland.gov
  

Office of Research and Policy Analysis  

Name Position Title Email
Barbara Schmertz, Ph.D. Director barbara.schmertz@maryland.gov
Vacant Associate Director
Ann Kellogg MLDSC Director of Reporting Services ann.kellogg@maryland.gov
Alexia Van Orden Research Analyst alexia.vanorden@maryland.gov
Sarahita Wyatt-Paige Research Analyst sarahita.wyatt-paige@maryland.gov
​​​​​​​​
​​​