# Minutes were approved as read with no additions or corrections at the FAC-MHEC meeting of April 16, 2019.

Faculty Advisory Council University of Maryland Eastern Shore – Princess Anne, Maryland Engineering & Aviation Sciences Complex, Room 108 Tuesday, October 16, 2018 @ 1:30 pm *Minutes* 

# **Call to Order and Approval of Meeting Minutes**

#### Motion to approve changes in by-laws regarding membership

- The Commission is open to hearing FAC new possibilities regarding membership/representation.
- This change will open FAC to all stakeholders for higher education including, USM, MICUA and MACC. This would provide the possibility of having 54 appointees in FAC.
- The motion was passed with 11 in favor and 3 against.
- Charge recommended by Dr. Dow to the Bylaws Committee regarding how faculty are nominated to the Secretary to be appointed to FAC and to review quorum for FAC.

#### New Business

- Legislation possibly being drafted to remove pharmaceutical benefits from state level faculty benefits plan.
- MHEC and FAC both have shown an interest to host a training or seminar regarding student advising.

## **Chair Report**

• FAC moving forward will look to host meetings at new institutions to spread the wealth along with utilizing technology for video conferencing during meetings.

## MHEC Report

- State Financial Aid Resources
  - Emily will circulate documents to FAC regarding Student Financial Aid.
- MHEC staff working with institutions to develop various reports in preparation for Legislative session.
- Completion Summit is April 25, 2019 at Morgan State University, registration closes April 12, 2019.

## Committee Updates

- Dual Enrollment
  - Emily will circulate COMAR references regarding faculty

## Adjournment (at 3:30 pm)

## Attendees:

- Angelique Cook-Hayes (BCCC)
- Dr. Paige Eager (Hood)
- Dr. Amber Rust (AACC)
- Barbara S. Rowell (Stevenson)
- Katherine Corley Murray (Notre Dame)
- Dr. Kenneth Kerr (FCC)
- Matthew Mann
- Dr. Richard J. Siciliano (CSM)
- Shinta Hernandez (MC)
- Dr. Walter Hill (St. Mary's)
- Dr. Chris Brittan-Powell (Coppin)
- Soren Ashmall (Capitol)
- Dr. William B. Talley (UMES)
- Dr. Emily Dow (MHEC)