
HOWARD P. RAWLINGS

WWW.MHEC.MARYLAND.GOV

MDMHEC

MDMHEC

MDMHEC

MDMHEC

PROGRAM OF EDUCATIONAL 
EXCELLENCE AWARDS



HOW TO APPLY

• Complete and file the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) by March 1
online at https://studentaid.ed.gov/sa/fafsa. 

• You must file the Maryland State Financial Aid Application (MSFAA) if eligible for in-state tuition
on MDCAPS, but ineligible to receive federal aid. 

• If you do not have an MDCAPS account, then create an account at any time. After the username 
and password have been created, the student will be sent an email explaining how to
activate their account.

• Students may not receive BOTH the Educational Assistance (EA) grant and the Guaranteed 
Access (GA) grant but may receive either award with other State awards, such as the 
Legislative Scholarship. If you are offered and accept certain State scholarship awards,
your EA or GA Grant may be recalculated. 

• All undergraduate majors are eligible.

CREDIT COMPLETION REQUIREMENT

In order to receive the maximum award amount for your third year of receiving the award and 
thereafter, you must:

•	 Continue to meet the eligibility requirements for either the EA and GA grant; 
•	 Successfully complete 30 credits at the end of your second academic year of receiving the

award at a two-year or four-year Maryland college or university; and
•	 Enroll as a degree-seeking undergraduate student.

Guaranteed Access Partnership Program (GAPP) 

The Guaranteed Access Partnership Program (GAPP) provides a matching grant award to eligible 
Maryland students who receive a GA Grant and enroll at a participating Maryland independent 
college or university as a new undergraduate student.  

For more information about the GAPP program, please contact your institution’s financial aid office so 
that they may assist you in completing the process.

GA ELIGIBLITY REQUIREMENTS 

up to $20,000 annually
GUARANTEED ACCESS GRANT (GA)

• Enroll for at least 12 credits
per semester; and

• Maintain satisfactory academic
progress.

• Eligible for in-state tuition;
• Have demonstrated need;

EA ELIGIBLITY REQUIREMENTS 

EDUCATIONAL ASSISTANCE GRANT (EA)
up to $3,000 annually

This document is informational only; it is not intended as legal advice and does not have the force of law.  We have endeavored to make this document accurate and up-
to-date, but if there is any variance between this document and applicable statutes and regulations, the statutes and regulations shall prevail.

 High School Seniors:

•	 You must file your FAFSA by March 1;
•	 You must file the Maryland State Financial 

Aid Application (MSFAA) in your MDCAPS 
account if eligible for in-state tuition, but 
ineligible to receive federal aid; 

•	 You must demonstrate need and meet 
certain income requirements;

•	 You and your parents (if you are a 
dependent student) must meet the 
in-state tuition requirements per your 
institution;

•	 You must enroll at a two-year or four-year 
Maryland college or university as a full-
time (12+ credits per semester; audited 
courses cannot be used to reach the 
minimum credit hours required for full-
time status), degree-seeking, undergraduate 
student; You must have an unweighted 
cumulative 2.5 high school grade point 
average (GPA);

•	 You must be under the age of 22 at the 
time of graduating high school; and

•	 You must submit all required verification
documents no later than April 1.

General Educational Development Diplo-
ma (GED) Recipients:

•	 You must file your FAFSA by March 1;
•	 You must file the Maryland State Financial

Aid Application (MSFAA) in your 
MDCAPS account if eligible for in-state 
tuition, but ineligible to receive federal 
aid;

•	 You must demonstrate need and meet 
certain income requirements;

•	 You and your parents (if you are a 
dependent student) must meet in-state 
requirements per your institution;

•	 You must enroll at a two-year or four-
year Maryland college or university as 
a full-time (12+ credits per semester; 
audited courses cannot be used to reach 
the minimum credit hours required for 
full-time status), degree-seeking, under-
graduate student; 

•	 You must have scored a minimum of 
165 per module on the diploma (GED) 
examination;

•	 You must be under the age of 26 years at 
the time of receiving the first award; and

•	 You must submit all required verification
documents no later than April 1.




